WUDC 2011: Unofficial ESL and EFL tabs

Datum: Jan 12th, 2011
By
Category: Turniere

On his blog, Manos Moschopoulos compiled unofficial tabs for ESL and EFL respectively for the World Universities Debating Championships (WUDC or Worlds). He did so based on data provided by Leela Koenig, judge at Botswana Worlds, and the competition’s language committee. So far, official ESL and EFL tabs have not yet been published by the adjudication team of CA Logandran Balavijendran.

According to Manos’ compilation, a correction of the Top Five EFL Speakers has to be noted: “Simon Belak (Ljubljana C) and Andreas Lazar (Stuttgart A) are joint top EFL speakers (initially, they were announced as 2nd and 1st respectively),” Manos mentions in his blog Maledictus Schadenfreude.

The following applies to VDCH speakers and teams:

EFL speakers

  • Andreas Lazar, Stuttgart A (1)
  • Nils Haneklaus, Stuttgart B (6)
  • Christoph Jäger, Wien A (18)

ESL speakers

  • Michael Saliba, Stuttgart A (4)
  • Patrick Ehmann, Berlin A (5)
  • Bastian Laubner, Berlin A (6)
  • Dessislava Kirova, Berlin B (18)
  • Andreas Lazar, Stuttgart A (21)
  • Sarah Jaglitz, Greifswald A (23)
  • Wladi Jachtschenko, München A (26)
  • Marcus Ewald, Gutenberg A (Mainz, 26)
  • Florian Umscheid, Berlin B (28)
  • Markus Dankerl, München A (31)
  • Nils Haneklaus, Stuttgart B (40)
  • Rafael Heinisch, Greifswald A (41)
  • Moritz Kirchner, Potsdam A (50)
  • Mathias Hamann, Potsdam A (50)
  • Jana Gilke, Stuttgart B (55)
  • Leonhard Weese, Wien A (77)
  • Marietta Gädeke, Gutenberg A (77)
  • Christoph Jäger, Wien A (89)

VDCH teams on the ESL tab

  • Stuttgart A (3)
  • Berlin B (9)
  • Gutenberg A (Mainz, 12)
  • Berlin A (14)
  • Potsdam A (24)
  • Wien A (29)
  • Munich A (31)
  • Greifswald A (38)
  • Stuttgart B (40)

Numbers in brackets indicate the rank on the respective tab.

Since 1981, debaters from all over the world have been competing at the World Universities Debating Championships at alternating locations across the planet. It was not before 1996 that the British Parliamentary Style became the mandatory format for this annual tournament. The African continent has been host to previous Worlds and staged the Worlds now for a third time, this year from 27 December 2010 to 4 January 2011 at the University of Botswana, Gaborone. Language of debate is English and there are three categories: “Main” for native speakers, “ESL” (English as a Second Language, for those who prove great proficiency in English) and “EFL” (English as a Foreign Language, for those who studied English as a mere subject).

apf / glx

Similar Posts

Print Friendly
Schlagworte: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Comments are closed.

Our Sponsors

Hauptsponsor
Medienpartner

WUDC 2011: Inoffizielle ESL- und EFL-Tabs

Datum: 12. Januar 2011
Redakteur:
Kategorie: Turniere

Auf seinem Blog hat Manos Moschopoulos inoffizielle ESL- und EFL-Tabs für die World Universities Debating Championships zusammengestellt, die heuer um den Jahreswechsel in Gaborone, Botsuana, ausgetragen wurden. Die Daten dafür hatte er von Leela Koenig, Jurorin bei den Worlds, und dem “language committee“ erhalten. Bislang hat das Chefjurorenteam um Logandran Balavijendran versäumt, gesonderte Ranglisten für die Kategorien “English as a Second Language“ (ESL) und “English as a Foreign Language“ (EFL) zu veröffentlichen.

Gemäß den Listen, die Manos erstellt hat, ergibt sich unter anderem eine Korrektur der Top-Five-Redner im EFL-Tab: “Simon Belak (Ljubljana C) and Andreas Lazar (Stuttgart A) are joint top EFL speakers (initially, they were announced as 2nd and 1st respectively),” erklärt Manos auf seinem Blog Maledictus Schadenfreude.

Daraus ergeben sich folgende Ranglisten für Redner und Teams aus VDCH-Clubs, die am Debattierwettstreit in Gaborone teilgenommen haben:

EFL-Redner

  • Andreas Lazar, Stuttgart A (1)
  • Nils Haneklaus, Stuttgart B (6)
  • Christoph Jäger, Wien A (18)

ESL-Redner

  • Michael Saliba, Stuttgart A (4)
  • Patrick Ehmann, Berlin A (5)
  • Bastian Laubner, Berlin A (6)
  • Dessislava Kirova, Berlin B (18)
  • Andreas Lazar, Stuttgart A (21)
  • Sarah Jaglitz, Greifswald A (23)
  • Wladi Jachtschenko, München A (26)
  • Marcus Ewald, Gutenberg A (Mainz, 26)
  • Florian Umscheid, Berlin B (28)
  • Markus Dankerl, München A (31)
  • Nils Haneklaus, Stuttgart B (40)
  • Rafael Heinisch, Greifswald A (41)
  • Moritz Kirchner, Potsdam A (50)
  • Mathias Hamann, Potsdam A (50)
  • Jana Gilke, Stuttgart B (55)
  • Leonhard Weese, Wien A (77)
  • Marietta Gädeke, Gutenberg A (77)
  • Christoph Jäger, Wien A (89)

VDCH-Teams im ESL-Tab

  • Stuttgart A (3)
  • Berlin B (9)
  • Gutenberg A (Mainz, 12)
  • Berlin A (14)
  • Potsdam A (24)
  • Wien A (29)
  • Munich A (30)
  • Greifswald A (38)
  • Stuttgart B (40)

Die Ziffern in Klammern geben den Rang im entsprechenden Tab an.

Die World Universities Debating Championships (WUDC) werden seit 1981 jährlich um den Jahreswechsel ausgetragen, seit 1996 immer im British Parliamentary Style. Vom 27. Dezember 2010 bis 4. Januar 2011 war die Debattierwelt nun schon zum dritten Mal Gast in Afrika, diesmal an der “University of Botswana” in Gaborone. Die Turniersprache ist Englisch. Es gibt drei Sprachkategorien: “Main” (vor allem Muttersprachler), “ESL” (English as a Secound Language, für Leute mit hauptsächlich englischsprachigem Unterricht oder Aufenthalten in englischsprachigen Ländern) und “EFL” (English as a Foreign Language, für Leute, deren Sprachkenntnisse nur auf Schulunterricht basieren).

apf / glx

Ähnliche Artikel

Print Friendly
Schlagworte: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Keine Kommentare möglich.

Credits

Unsere Sponsoren

Hauptsponsor
Medienpartner